Cardmaking

Heart button card

I’ve been continuing with the Mother’s Day theme recently and wanted to share a couple more I’ve made that, again, haven’t really ended up being specifically Mother’s Day cards at all.

Firstly, I decided to try and make my own sentiments using the print and cut function of my Silhouette, which if you follow me on Instagram you’ll have already seen.

IMG_1957These helped me get the technique right (and I’ll certainty be doing more of these soon) but I didn’t like any of them. In the end I settled for the sentiment in a scalloped heart and decided to build my card around that. After looking through some magazines a card with a heart filled with buttons caught my eye and I decided to use that as my template/inspiration for today’s card.

First I needed my colours. As it was going to be a Mother’s Day card, pinks were the order of the day. I picked out a cute polka dot paper from an American Crafts pack I had and a lovely flowery paper from my Blank Canvas First Edition paper pack. Using the flowers as my background for the card, I cut a couple of scalloped hearts out of the polka dot paper and set to work arranging and gluing buttons from the Papermania Vintage Notes collection onto my hearts.

Trains and cards 014
I decided to do one pink and one peach, so I could make a couple of slightly different cards.

So then I had my hearts and my background and I got stuck. The sentiment didn’t look right on it and I didn’t have any other Mother’s Day sentiments to choose from. I was left with a rather plain looking card. Again, if you follow me on Instagram, you’ve already seen this and my plea for help.

IMG_1960It was then that I realised I hadn’t done any bows for a while and I do love my bows! I bought a slighty different bow design a few weeks ago that I hadn’t used yet so I dug out some complementary stripey paper from Capsule Collection Spots and Stripes Pastels and cut out some bows.

Trains and cards 016Pretty cute, huh? I added another strip of the stripey paper and popped it on the bottom of the card and promptly got stuck again.

IMG_4091And that is how the card has stayed. I toyed with adding faux stitching round the outside but couldn’t decide on a colour that wouldn’t completely overtake the card. I also played around with a few non-Mother’s Day sentiments that I had but again, couldn’t find anything I liked. I therefore decided just to keep it as it is. As Ed pointed out a few weeks ago, there’s nothing that says I have to put a sentiment on a card. At least then it can just be used for anything, and if I feel the need to add something later, I will.

So this has gone in the shop as is and while it was a pain to put together in the end I like how it’s turned out, I think it’s something I’ll try again in the future as I really like the button heart. Maybe I’ll actually do a Mother’s Day card with one, who knows?

What do you think? Does the card need a little more adding to it? Let me know!

Em x

 

One thought on “Heart button card

Leave a comment