Cardmaking

New Thank You Card

A new card post for you today…

I have been cardmaking lately, but primarily attempting a difficult commission I recently received. Firstly, I needed to make some 3d calla lillies which seemed to take forever to perfect, followed by cutting out letters which was easier, but then I was reminded that trying to stick small letters down was annoying, so I’ve got some self adhesive cardstock on order! Lazy, I know, but I’m just not cut out for intricate gluing.

My hatred of fiddly stuff was temporarily forgotten about, as I decided to try a card design I’d seen in a variety of places over the years and always wanted to try. I couldn’t think how best to describe the design, so I’ll just show you how it all came together.

IMG_2112So you can probably guess the design of the card. First thing I did was pick out four different papers from my Blank Canvas First Edition paper pack and create a cut file in Silhouette to get this stack of pieces. I then got a plainish pink from the same pack and cut out my background and scalloped circle for the centre of my card.

IMG_2115I then arranged the pieces in a square how I wanted them to look and glued them onto a piece of cream cardstock. And promptly ran into a problem.

IMG_2116There isn’t the same number of pieces along the sides as there are along the top and bottom and so the design doesn’t really fit in a square all that well. Luckily I had some pretty blue ribbon to improvise with.

IMG_2118It definitely improved the slight boo boo. I then simply added the background pink paper and my sentiment and the card was all done.

IMG_2122
The pink has ended up looking quite dark in this picture, but it’s really pale pink.

So the spacing of the pieces definitely needs work; the finished card is far from perfect. I’m not completely sold on the sentiment either, but I discovered that the majority of the ones I have are all white. I might have to have a play with the silhouette to make some cream ones with some nice paper I have. Expect to see a couple more versions of this card in the coming weeks.

What do you think of the card?

Em x

P.S. If you’re interested in seeing more of my cards, check out my Etsy shop!

One thought on “New Thank You Card

Leave a comment