Cardmaking

Christmas has begun!

I say begun, but thanks to working in retail it’s actually been going since August for me.

But I digress. I’m here today to talk about Christmas cards. I was quite good this year and got a good head start. Such a good head start that I think i’m now in danger of being on a card selling roll and thus make lots of Christmas cards to sell and none to give. 

I’ve been quite fickle in terms of the ranges I’ve been using and rather than just stick to one and make lots of cards I’ve got quite a range going on. I’ve been exclusively using Docrafts ranges this year as they’re just too damn pretty. Here’s a quick run down of some of the cards I’ve been making.

Twelve Days of Christmas

IMG_1212
Probably my favourite design – and look at that penguin!
IMG_1214
You’ve got to have a bit of bunting!
IMG_1216
I love the simplicity of this one.

You can’t actually tell from these particular cards, but there are papers and die cuts that basically have the whole song lyrics on. These were my first designs and they didn’t really make the most of that element – I just loved the pretty patterns really. But I love the bright colours of this and the fact I can pair it with my Nordic washi and a cute penguin for some nice contemporary cards.

Me to You

IMG_1209

I love making Me to You cards. It’s just so easy to make them look cute without being overly fussy. I do like this range a lot as it means you can move away from the traditional reds and greens of Christmas but still keep them looking festive. I like adding tags to cards and layering different shapes on top – I made a few of this particular style.

Forever Friends

IMG_1210

Continuing the theme here’s one of my favourite Forever Friends cards. This is a more traditional range and last year I made a lot of these cards for grandparents and the such. I’m not a huge fan of stamping (I’m not skilled with Promarkers) and so decoupage like this is perfect for me.

Spots and Stripes Festive

IMG_1217

Everytime I go to Hobbycraft I seem to come back with something from this range. The colours are just perfect and it’s so me in terms of the overall style – this is definitely my favourite range this year! I’ve been making some very pretty but simple cards and thanks to the complementary buttons, bows and washi they all end up with a really nice finish to them. I think i’ll probably end up adding to my spots and stripes collection (they do all year round colourways too) very soon!

How has your Christmas crafting been going?

Em x

Leave a Reply

