Personal · Planning

Setting up my planner to keep track of my resolutions

So I showed you last week what my goals were for 2014 and thought next I’d show you how some of that fits into my planning.

Firstly, I wanted to make a goal/task sheet for my planner, as it didn’t come with notes pages, and I wanted something sturdy, like cardboard. I gave myself the challenge of designing one in Silhouette and then cutting it using some thick ivory card I have for cardmaking. I’m pretty happy with the result – it fit first time! It wasn’t all that difficult I guess, once I got the size of the ring on the Grandluxe right it was just a copy and paste job.

Still a bit bare, but i'm planning on adding to it as these become pure routine.
Still a bit bare, but i’m planning on adding to it as these become pure routine.

So how to keep track of whether I’m doing all of these? That was a conundrum. I didn’t particularly want to write it in my planner everyday (space constraints) and I’ve tried iPhone reminders before and they don’t really make me actually do it …it just becomes a reflex to automatically turn it off rather than an actual reminder. Then Chrismtas came and brought the perfect gift!

I love owls. My mother knows me so well!
I love owls. My mother knows me so well!

Perfect! Something small that I can write my appointments and work shifts in that can fit in a bag no problem (lugging an a5 everywhere just isn’t practical) and enough space to keep track of what I’m keeping to. It also houses info like gym opening times and the such, for reference. This may also evolve into a food diary as healthy eating becomes more of a focus later on. Rather than write out the whole word or phrase each day I’ve colour coded everything (see the arrows on the goals) and then just write either one or two letters that correspond to a task as I’ve competed it. It’s therefore quite quick to update through the day (love my Bic multipen!) meaning I shouldn’t really have a reason to not keep up with it. I don’t think I’ll be decorating this as it’s too small really and let’s face it, the front cover is all the pretty this diary needs!

Not very neat, but it gives you a rough idea.
Not very neat, but it gives you a rough idea.

So there you have it, hopefully a fool proof way of prompting myself to complete some of my goals this year. I think the happiness and career elements will just come naturally in my main planner as it’s generally just life stuff that you would stick in a diary as it comes about anyway.

How are you keeping track of your resolutions for this year?

Em x

Leave a Reply

