Cardmaking

Continuing the theme of cards with bows

So after making a couple of cards for someone I decided to spend more time on bows, creating some more cute and simple cards, not just for birthdays.

I had a rough idea of what I wanted to make – something similar to the 60th design from last time, something that kind of looks like a present but with more colour to it. Some of my inspiration came from a beautiful card from one of my favourite bloggers, Alexandria Rose Creations. (As a side note she has some fab paper flower and rosette tutorials which I’m going to give a go at some point.)

I’d also just returned with a Range haul, including some white card blanks (normally I just make ivory cards) and some beautiful new paper from First Edition. I LOVE first edition papers and they’re such fantastic quality.

So, I had my idea. I had my papers and I set to work making a batch of bows. First thing I learnt with these bows is that the card can’t be too thick. My first attempt with this lot and I ended up with a lovely line across the middle of the bow where the card had bent which I had to cover up with some stick on gems.

DSCF1768I love this combo of papers and the shimmer on the blue is lovely and subtle. I finished the card with a thank you tag I picked up ages ago from Hobby Craft.

Next I wanted to try it with thinner card and dug out some linen effect cardstock I had.

DSCF1765Same top paper, but this time some polka dots on the bottom (you can just about see a small amount of shimmer in the green on the dots). This card was finished with some fabric tape – to carry on the texture theme – that I backed with cardstock and stuck on with 3d foam pads.

I then moved onto my white card blanks and paired together some more First Edition papers for a slightly different look.

DSCF1771Again, the top paper has some shimmer to it, and although you can’t see it the sentiment has a subtle shimmer background. I really like this one. The top paper is one of my favourites.

I had enough bows left to make one more set of cards and decided to go for something really simple, that could pretty much be used for anything. I took some pages from my Do Crafts Spots and Stripes Pastel pack and had a play around.

DSCF1764I really like this one. Simple and unfussy (is that even a word??). Again the sentiment has some light shimmer, this time around the outside. I really struggle to find sentiments I like and i’m not a huge fan of stamping currently but this set from Do Crafts Papermania was a good find – it’s basically a pack of varying sized white sentiments, all with a touch of shimmer.

This might be it for bows now. I really want to try and make rosettes and also jump on the chevrons bandwagon. I’ve just picked up the latest Simple Cards and & Papercraft and it has a piece on chevrons so maybe i’ll get some inspiration from that!

What to do you think? All these cards are now up in the shop for purchase!

Em x

2 thoughts on “Continuing the theme of cards with bows

Leave a Reply

