Cardmaking · Personal · Planning

You’re allowed to break your no buy month if you’re on holiday, right?

A mere ten days into my no buy month and I broke it D’oh!

I decided I had good reason though. I was on holiday back home for a few days and that I meant I got to go to a huge (if a little strange) craft store up there and a The Works Outlet Store. The craft store was a no brainer as all I get round here in MK is Hobbycraft and The Range, no local independents and The Works Outlet wasn’t really much of an outlet as it didn’t seem any cheaper, but it had a decent selection of stuff that I haven’t found in the local one here. I was pretty restrained though and in total probably only spent around £12 between the two shops. Not bad for me really.

The craft shop haul

IMG_1887Nothing here was any cheaper than Hobbycraft and the like but it’s so big and random that the choice far exceeds that of Hobbycraft. The gold glitter card was bought with the intention of brightening up some of my more plain cards. It’s a shame they didn’t have silver either as I would have got that too. I’m not a huge glitter fan in general but hopefully just backing a sentiment with it or something will add a nice finishing touch to some cards. The paper flowers are to experiment with as I always see beautiful cards finished off with some 3d flowers and have never really given them a whirl myself. You can never have too many sentiments (I always struggle to find the right one to finish off my cards) and the foam pads are because my pads and sticky dots always end up too big for my embellishments. Hopefully I’ll get chance to have a play with most of this and show you the results later in the week.

The Works haul

IMG_1890That paper pack was a BARGAIN! £6 for a 12×12 48 double sided sheet paper pack. I’ve liked this range for a while but the main designs never really matched my style. The reverse of the pages however are fab and I can see a million and one uses for them, there’s lots of simple patterns that I reckon would be really versatile. The vintage style paperpack was only £1 and should come in handy for any future mens cards. The quality of the paper is surprisingly good – I think I’ll be getting more Works paperpacks in the future. I don’t really think I need to explain the post its… you can never have too many!

I’ve now officially bought my car so that’s definitely it now, no more spending! 

Em x

Leave a Reply

