Beauty

February Birchbox Review

For  a start this review is very late. Here is the primary reason why it is late:

IMG_1892Yup. That would be a smashed hair oil all over the products and lots of tiny little shards of glass in the bag.

I emailed Birchbox straight away and they were super quick at getting back to me to say they were dispatching a replacement box and had added 50 points to my Birchbox account. Woop! Something tells me putting a glass bottled hair oil and nail colour in the same box wasn’t the greatest of ideas and I wasn’t the only one with this problem. Anyway, a week later my new box arrived with some extra bubble wrap in the box to stop any potential breakages.

IMG_1938Gilchrist & Soames Shower Gel

I had heard of this brand before but never felt the need to purchase anything from them and sadly I still won’t be. The shower gel is nice enough, but I’m a Molton Brown/L’Occitane kind of girl, and this was just a wee bit boring for me. Not all that foamy, and no strong smell that I could smell on my skin afterwards.

Leighton Denny Nail Colour

I’ve used Leighton Denny in the past and while I like the application and colours available it always suffered two problems: it’s consistency was poor and so it needed multiple coats and it chipped just as quickly as any other nail colour I’d used. I tried this colour which is a grey/lilac and liked the colour a lot. However, over the years the consistency hasn’t improved at all and still needed more than one coat. Which if you use base and top coat means four coats in total and frankly, I don’t have the time or the patience for something I know won’t last more than a day or two with my nails. Sadly my nails are in dire need of some attention so I can’t comment on how long the colour lasted, as it was used purely for swatching purposes.

Beauty Protector Oil

After the success of the detangle spray from my first box which I then went on to buy I was excited to use this. As someone with very fine flyaway hair, I love a good hair oil. My current Schwarzkopf is my favourite and is very reasonably priced and so at £16 Beauty Protector had a big mountain to climb.  First things first, it smells just as amazing at the detangle spray. Secondly, a little seems to go a long way. Thirdly, it did seem to make my hair lovely and smooth. I am using a new shampoo/conditioner combo at the moment though so only time will tell whether it’s that or the oil that has the most effect. Is it worth the £16? The jury is still out, sadly.

Eyeko Skinny Liquid Eyeliner

I’m not a liquid eyeliner fan. Mainly because I can’t apply it too well. I prefer those little gel pots I can use with a brush or the felt tip kind so again this was just something I swatched. It’s a great liner with great pigment, very versatile in terms of the size of the lines you can get and it is smudge proof as it claims to be. If I had a steady enough hand, I would use this.

Urban Veda Purifying Facial Wash

My skin is pretty awful at the moment and my acne is the worst it’s been in a while (yay, hormones!) so I was excited to try this. It’s a really nice face wash, with a great almost menthol scent and it did leave my skin feeling nice and clean. I didn’t however see any noticeable difference in my skin after using the whole tube. At only £8 it’s something I wouldn’t be opposed to trying again but in the meantime I’ve some Clarins to try.

Green & Black’s 70% dark chocolate

Chocolate, yay! Dark chocolate, boo! It’s something I should try and start enjoying as it’s better for you, but it’s just too bitter for me. If I were to become a dark chocolate eater though, it would definitely be G&B that I’d be chomping on. Their honeycomb crunch version of this is amazing, by the way.

All in all I’m happy with my lot this month. Even if there is only one item I end up repurchasing it was a great selection that I was excited to try and the fact that both the eyeliner and nail colour were full sizes was a fab little bonus. I also got another one of those bags to aid my make up storage which I’m very happy about. I still however need to find a use for all my boxes as they’re starting to stack up and I can’t bring myself to recycle them.

Did you like Feb’s Birchbox?

Em x

2 thoughts on “February Birchbox Review

    1. Oh yeah definitely. I did a lot of research before I signed up and Birchbox just seemed consistently more generous.

      Thank you x

Leave a Reply

