Beauty

March Birchbox Review

Another month, another Birchbox, and unfortunately another disappointment.

I’m sensing a pattern here. It seems to be panning out that for every month I love, there is a month waiting around the corner leaving me feeling ‘meh’. This was that month.

march

Before I get onto the specific products I’ll talk about my biggest issue with this month and that’s the repetition of products/brands. In January I received both a pore minimising primer and a body oil and this month, while different products, I have received the same again. I’ve now received two cellulite busting products in three months and two Benefit products in three months. I have seen other bloggers mention the frequency of hand creams in their boxes, although I’ve been lucky enough to not find that (very handy as I have about 1,000,000 tubes of hand cream). I have a six month subscription and I really think that unless I feel I’m getting a bit more variety, I probably won’t be buying another.

Okay, mini moan over. Onto the products:

Benefit Stay, Don’t Stray

So I’ve bought this product before a few years ago now and liked it, but didn’t think it was worth the money (£20.50 for the full size). After trying it again, I’m of the same opinion. I use it mainly for concealer (Urban Decay Eye Potion will never be beaten) and it does minimise the creasing of it under my eyes but doesn’t eradicate it completely. To be honest, given the amount of concealer I have to use to cover my dark circles I’ve never found anything that does eradicate concealer creasing completely and at this point, I’ve just learnt to live with it.

English Laundry No7 EDP

Another lovely English Laundry fragrance. I was first introduced to this brand in my first Birchbox and while this isn’t my favourite, it’s still a nice scent. It’s a lot sweeter/sharper than the one in November’s box but I didn’t mind wearing it at all. Again, this is another expensive product, £47 for 50ml.

Dr Brandt Pores No More Pore Refiner

This is very similar to Benefit’s Porefessional. The biggest difference seems to be the price. This is £39 for the full size although Birchbox don’t actually state what the tube size is for that so you never know, you might get a huge tube! Anyway, the product itself. I really like it. It’s got a lovely tint to it that means you could wear it alone if you wanted and it did minimise some of my pores. My make up lasted all day on top of it and it had a better texture/application to to it than the Benefit version, largely because it was more of a liquid. It didn’t have such a lovely scent to it as the Benefit but to be honest, as long as it doesn’t smell awful, I don’t care how my make up smells.

Aromaworks Body Oil

Another body oil. I’ve already said before I’m not a fan of them. It smelt nice, it left my skin feeling nice, but I won’t be purchasing this.

Cellu-cup

IMG_1987So what the hell is it? It’s a massage tool, similar to cupping that you use 3-4 times a week to reduce cellulite. I’ll be honest, I didn’t use this. I’m only 26 and of the belief that what cellulite I do have, will be better gotten rid of through diet and exercise and I’d rather spend an hour on the squash court or in the gym that use this several times a week. Not least because it looks uncomfortable and awkward to use. I could be completely wrong, and other Birchboxers might have loved this, but I’m just not feeling it.

So overall, not a great mix of products for me this month. The collaboration with Lulu Guinness was a nice touch, and I got a money off voucher to use at Lulu Guinness, along with a voucher for a make over at Benefit to promote their new brows product (although having a sample of that in this month’s box would have been an amazing move in my book) but I just can’t get over the repetition of products. I’m really hopeful that next month will follow the pattern and be another great month, full of products that I’m excited to be introduced to.

What did you think of this month’s Birchbox?

Em x

Leave a Reply

