Cardmaking

Birthday Elephant Card

After seeing some cards made using the new Penny Black jumbo love stamps I fancied making my own elephant card, using those as my inspiration.

zoom inI already had an elephant in my Silhouette library but wanted something a little different. I then stumbled upon a cute elephant holding a balloon and went with that. I wanted to card to look fairly clean and modern and so picked out some papers from my Happy Days pad and set to work designing it. The card I’d seen had some little flags with sentiments on kind of ‘held’ in place by a button and I wanted to do the same thing. I made the sentiments in Fireworks and opened them in Silhouette to put them in flag shapes and used the print and cut feature. I really like how they’ve come out.

This is my favourite card in a long time (do I say that every week now?) even if I have accidentally made a birthday card that’s probably more suited to a child recipient than an adult one. I’ll probably make a few more of these with a few tweaks later on this week. In the meantime this particular one is in the shop now! Which, thanks to my new lightbox, look pretty good in there! Now to get around to photographing all my others cards…

What do you think? More suited to children?

Em x

2 thoughts on “Birthday Elephant Card

Leave a Reply

