Beauty

June Birchbox Review

My last month with Birchbox is here!

I’m aware it’s now the end of June but I had so much other stuff I wanted to post, this got pushed to the back a wee bit. As it’s my last month I also had reward points to spend so I can show you what I bought with those too!

IMG_2331It doesn’t initially look like a lot to look at but the lipstick and nail colour are full size items which a good bonus. So what did I get?

Naobay Body Radiance Lotion

Please excuse me while I contain my excitement of having yet another moisturiser. As someone who isn’t good at regularly using it, I’m developing quite a collection now. Thankfully, this is a very nice moisturiser. It’s got a good consistency, sinks into the skin well and does keep my skin nice and soft. The radiance part, I’m not 100% convinced on. At £14 for the full size, it’s not hideously expensive and if I find myself ever running out of moisturisers (unlikely) I would be tempted by this. My only complaint is the sample size – I only really had enough product in there for two full body applications.

OPI Brazil Collection Nail Colour

So while this isn’t technically a full size compared to their other bottles, as this is part of one of their collections, this is the size of the bottle you get in the set. The problem is the colour is awful. Murky is a word that comes to mind. It’s easy to apply this (OPI have done some work on their brush shape since the last time I used their products I think) but does need two coats to acheive a rich colour. They may have improved fomulation over the years but I don’t find their nail colours to be overly durable. Had this been a colour I was happy to wear, I could have tested that out.

Silk Honey Shea Butter Hair Mask

This was an interesting product in that it had an expiry date of only two months. When you actually buy this (for a whopping £55) you’re given the recipe and ingredients and you make it yourself. It’s a neat concept but won’t be for everyone. The thing that’s annoyingly unclear is in the Birchbox shop, the description of the full size says it makes 5 pots of conditioner and one pot of conditioner, so I have no idea how many uses you’d get out of it. At £55 it’s extremely expensive; even more so if you have no idea how much product you’re getting although this seems to be a common theme in the Birchbox shop. Anyway, back to the product! It was a decent sample size and I got a good few uses out of it. It made my hair feel lovely and didn’t weigh it down. I didn’t find myself wow’d by it though and for £55 I would have to be.

Embryolisse Lait-Creme Concentre

This is nice rich moisturiser that can also be used to remove make up and as a body moisturiser. I used it as a normal face moisturiser and I liked it. It provided a nice base for my make up and hydrated it while not being too oily. I wouldn’t say it provided enough hydration on the dry patches of my skin from swimming, but as a general day to day moisturiser it was pretty good. At £20 for the full size it’s not that badly priced either.

Yves Rocher Sheer Botanical Lipstick

I was excited about this lipstick as I saw it advertised while I was in Bruges and was dying for a look! I’ve used Yves Rocher before and it’s a nice brand. I looked at the colour (a pale peach) and just thought ‘oh joy, another lipstick that won’t suit me’. I tried it anyway and at first was disappointed as I was expecting a strong pigment/colour. Given it was advertised as quite a pigmented lipstick it wasn’t what I was expecting. But I quickly realised this lipstick is all about the shine as the main ingredient – cherry oil – was picked because it refracts light. The fact that the colour wasn’t too strong also meant it actually suited me! It’s basically a pale slick of shiny colour that is perfect for the daytime. I’ve been using this constantly since I received it and would definitely purchase more from them! As it’s new, it’s got an introductory offer of only being £9.90 which is a fab price. To be honest, even at the full price of £18 I’d be tempted to buy it.

Overall thoughts on this month’s box…

It was not a bad box at all. The biggest reason for this is that it actually did what it’s supposed to – it introduced me to new brands and products. I’d only heard of OPI and Yves Rocher before and actually in the case of Yves Rocher it’s been that long since I used their products it wound up being a very nice reintroduction to the brand (I’m currently browsing the website to do some spending). However, the only reason it did this was because it was a World Cup themed box and thus had products from all around the world. My only complaint is that I would have loved to have received the Beauty Blender that others did – I’m dying to try it and my trusty foundation brush has just died.

Despite being pretty happy with this month’s box I’m still not going to continue the subscription. There’s no denying this is great value when purchased at the right time. I got 6 months of boxes for £67.50 and got a very generous free gift to go with it and through completing the product surveys each month I accrued £40 of points over the course of my subscription. Not too shabby. But the bit I love the most about the boxes – discovering new brands and products – just wasn’t happening often enough for me (see my rant last month to know more). I’d therefore rather spend the money on being a bit more adventurous and buying different products that I find on the internet and giving them a whirl than receiving set items from Birchbox every month. I may still get the odd box if it has a nice selection of products but that’s probably it.

Onto what I bought with my points…

So I’d already spent some of my points a few months ago and was left with £30 to spend before the end of my subscription (I wasn’t sure that they’d be saved if I wasn’t receiving anymore boxes) and decided to buy the two products I’ve loved the most over the past few months plus an extra item I wanted to try. Unlike last time I ordered from the shop, the items were delivered very quickly so I pleasantly surprised with that.

IMG_2404Beauty Protector Protect & Detangle Leave in Conditioner

I’ve actually bought this once before already with my points. It’s so much better than the Aussie Leave In Conditioners at detangling my straw-like hair. It’s £15 and although it doesn’t last all that long it does detangling and heat protection too (along with a million of other things) so it’s a great all in one product. And the smell is amazing.

Chella Highlighter Pencil

I was dubious of this when I got it in my box but after reading it’s great under the eyes I can’t be without it now. I just finish my under eye concealing with this and it really helps to lift my eyes which is handy as my dark circles are very dark and need all the help they can get.

Dead Sea Spa Magik Facial Wash

This is where Birchbox lets themselves down again. I knew it was too good to be true it arriving so quickly. (If you’re not following, look back through my past Birchbox posts… I’ve had frequent issues with deliveries from Birchbox. Thankfully they’ve always sorted them out pretty quickly.) This was supposed to be a Dead Sea Spa Magik Mud Mask. Right brand. Wrong product. I’ve emailed them about it but sadly as yet I’ve had no response and as it’s now Friday evening I’ll probably have to wait until next week. Boo. Hopefully I’ll have a mud mask with me soon and as I love a good mud mask I should hopefully be able to share my thoughts with you!

What did you think of this month’s Birchbox?

Em x

5 thoughts on “June Birchbox Review

  1. I think that nailpolish color looks good actually 🙂 I don’t know how look that lipstick or whats in it but i hate yves rocher. They say organic for some products but if you read the ingredients there are a lot of parabens in them.

    1. Oh really? I didn’t know that about Yves Rocher! As someone who doesn’t shop organic it wouldn’t put me off but I know for a lot of people that would be really annoying.

Leave a Reply

