Cardmaking

Doily and hearts anniversary card

I’m back with my second of the two anniversary designs I wanted to try.

Again, this was based on an idea from Pinterest but came out quite a lot different as the Pinterest card is quite busy in comparison to my finished item.

As before, I started with a sketch in Silhouette:

Doily SketchThere was a difference with this design, in that everything on here wasn’t going to be cut out by the machine – the doily itself was from a pack of doilies that I bought a few months ago and never got around to trying and the rectangle in the middle of the design was ribbon.

The only thing not on here were the paper flowers I was going to finish it off with. The design is a fairly simple idea – a polka dot patterned background paper, the doily, a large heart cut out in kraft card and a smaller heart in the same colour as the ribbon and paper flowers.

First thing I did was get all my paper flowers out and tried to pair them with ribbon of the same colour. I did this first as I knew I was limited in my choice of ribbon stash. I narrowed it down to two: pink and cream. I then picked two different papers to serve as my background papers for each card.

I started with the pink card for which I had picked a pale green polka dot paper from one of my First Edition pads.

Doily AnniversaryI like how this turned out. Ed didn’t. He said the pink was too bright but I like the mix of traditional doily and bright pink.

Cream DoilyThis one is obviously a bit more traditional with the creams and lace trim. The background paper is from the same First Edition paper pack (Blank Canvas if you want to check it out for yourself).

I like both of these. I think they’ll suit different types of people. I haven’t glued down the numbers as they’re in the etsy shop now and so whoever buys them can choose what numbers (or initials) go in the middle.

What do you think?

Em x

Leave a Reply

