Cardmaking

New DoCrafts Papermania Botanicals Range

As mentioned last week, the other free gift in this month’s DoCrafts Creativity magazine was some decoupage in the new Botanicals Range. I decided to have a play with them as the month before, the free gift was some papers from the same range.

IMG_2854The first thing that struck me after noticing the beautiful patterns on the papers was the quality of them – the paper was nice and thick and the print was of a good quality. I was happy with the decoupage – a good size and nice images that I knew I could build a card around. First I put one of the flowers together.

IMG_2855

I decided to layer it onto some textured cream paper before mounting it onto my chosen background. To make the card stand out a bit more I inked the edges of the cream paper and background paper using Distress Ink.

IMG_2856I liked the ink bleed I got with this paper – Champagne Laid Paper, if you’re interested.

To add a bit more colour I then added some hessian that I had in my stash and some brown gems from the Crafters Companion Beatrix Potter range. I then inked the edges of one of the sentiments from the decoupage page and added it to the card.

IMG_2857I like that I added some brown to this card. I think it could have looked dull otherwise.

This is a nice range. It’s not my usual taste, but I can see myself picking up a few more items from it to keep in for when I need to do more mature cards. This range would also definitely make nice ‘with sympathy’ and ‘get well soon’ cards.

What do you think of this range? Will you be buying it?

Em x

P.S. If you like this card it’s in the shop now!

Leave a Reply

