Cardmaking

First Christmas Card of the Year…

Don’t worry, it’s one I’ve made, rather than received. That would be strange. 

Although I have already started nagging Ed about putting up the Christmas tree soon and he just moans saying I’m on retail Christmas timelines (he has got a point about that and I’ll probably be sick of Christmas by the second week of December).

Anyway, I got some free time this weekend so I could finally start some Christmas cards! My mum has requested some so I’ve started making hers first. It’s really strange to get back into the festive swing so I’ve only made one to share today but will have more soon!

I decided to start with the Christmas in the Country papers and elements I picked up a few weeks ago. I wanted something simple to start with and saw an idea in a magazine of hollies die cut out of white card and then backed with coloured papers or ink so decided to try that out. I found a free holly design for my Silhouette online and altered it so the berries and leaves were separate cuts. I added three to a rectangle shape and cut it out of white card. I then picked out some red and green papers from the paper pack and set about backing the berries and leaves. It was a bit fiddly but I got the hang of it in the end.

IMG_3496

I love the effect. Here’s how it looks at the back, in case you’re curious:

IMG_3498I then ran into an issue. The idea was to place that straight onto a white card blank and add a strip of paper and some ribbon underneath it. Unfortunately, the white of the card blank was a different shade to the white above so I had to think of something else. Instead I backed the card blank with my favourite paper from the pack.

IMG_3501

To finish the card I then added some My Mind’s Eye bits that I picked up a while ago too – a sentiment and some wooden dots.

I’m loving the Nordic theme this year and will definitely be making more like this.

What do you think?

Em x

 

One thought on “First Christmas Card of the Year…

Leave a Reply

