Cardmaking

Male birthday card

If you’re a regular reader of the blog, you’ll know I don’t like doing birthday cards for men. I’m more at ease with cards I can cover with flowers and pink.

With my grandad’s birthday coming up I needed to make him a card and set about pulling out some paper packs and sentiments that I could use. The papers I settled on were the My Mind’s Eye Now and Then pack because you can’t go wrong with blues in a male card. I was also desperate to use the wooden letters I picked up a few weeks ago.

With the elements picked I had a quick look on Pinterest for some inspiration and found a design of patterned squares with letters on spelling birthday and wanted to give it a try.

Capture

This was the idea of it on the Silhouette. I picked a kraft cardstock for the largest square and three complementary papers from the paper pack to cut into the squares. I cut out nine on each paper so I can make more than one card.

IMG_3696

The papers are doublesided which meant I wasn’t limited to three designs on the card. I was a bit stumped as to what to do with the last square. I debated leaving it blank but thought it looked too plain so added a button with some stiff string.

This has come out nicely, though possibly a bit too modern looking to give my grandad. I’ll definitely try a few more variations of this with the other squares I’ve got ready cut.

What do you think?

Em x

2 thoughts on “Male birthday card

Leave a Reply

