Cardmaking

Dad and Grandad birthday cards

It’s my dad and grandad’s birthday on the same day and I decided to get nice and ahead with cards this year and do their cards early.

I started with my grandad’s card and wanted to go with something simple but mature. The design I settled on is mixed from an old design I made over a year ago and something I saw on Pinterest.

IMG_3946

The papers are from the only slightly masculine looking ones I have, from First Edition. The sentiment I made myself using my Silhouette’s print and cut feature. I do love that font and may just have to make a big batch of sentiments using it just so I have some ready to go. I then added a few buttons to finish it off. I tried putting some twine through them and they looked great but because it was so thick the buttons then wouldn’t stick to the card so I removed it.

Next I moved onto my dad’s card and after ages scratching my head settled on making him a Leeds Utd themed card. Unfortunately that was about the time my printer decided it had a paper jam. Sadly it was a ghost paper jam and no manner of troubleshooting would fix it. So I had to change my design idea and went for another one of his passions – fishing!

IMG_3944

The background is My Mind’s Eye, as are the papers used for the fishes. The enamel dots are part Freckled Fawn, part My Mind’s Eye. The woodchip letters are also Freckled Fawn. I wanted to add a sentiment but didn’t want to overload the card so just stamped happy birthday on the inside instead.

Now I’ve got these cards out of the way, I’m going to continue to keep ahead with my card making this year and move onto Mother’s Day.

What do you think?

Em x

Leave a Reply

