Other crafts

Ikea Drawer Makeover

Thanks to now working in DIY I keep thinking of lots of home decor projects I could attempt to do.

Emphasis on could attempt.

A while ago I showed some changes to my Ikea drawers with the help of self adhesive vinyl I got for Christmas. At work I noticed we had some chalky effect furniture paint that you could pretty much just paint straight onto the surface and knew I had to have some.

IMG_4089

 

I love this blue colour and thought it would go nicely with my blue Raskog (although I know it’s not the same colour blue by any means).

As I said, the instructions were straight forward for this, literally a quick go over with some sandpaper and you can paint straight on. I decided to paint the drawers I’d added the vinyl to a few months ago as they were marked from where they were once labeled. The vinyl that was already on there just peeled off nicely. I knew I was going to be redoing the lettering so I wasn’t concerned about taking it off gently.

IMG_3886

The paint goes on nicely and all I had to be careful of was not overloading the paintbrush and thus getting drips on the wood. One coat was all it needed and I only used about half of this small tin to do the drawers (although I must admit I only painted the fronts of the drawers, the outside of the whole thing and only a little bit inside.

I then found a nice font and cut out my words on white vinyl once again.

drawers front

I much prefer this choice of font! It’s just something I found on dafont.com and it’s called ‘KG Eyes Wide Open’ if I remember correctly. I know the lettering isn’t exactly on evenly or straight in places but I’m telling myself it adds to the effect!

drawers side

I really love how these drawers look now in my Ikea cube (yes, everything in my flat is Ikea). This has definitely got me itching to paint all of the things but I fear Ed might have something to say about that…

Em x

5 thoughts on “Ikea Drawer Makeover

Leave a Reply

