Cardmaking · Other crafts

Silhouette Stamping Material Review

Ed knows me so well. He knows he can’t go wrong with some Silhouette items for Christmas or birthday.

For Christmas he got me the stamping material starter kit that I may or may not have been nagging for…stamp1I’d rather have this than the Mint, as I don’t really use stamps enough to make that worthwhile (plus it’s pretty pricey in my opinion).stamp2

In the pack you receive three sheets of the stamping material, cutting mat, ink pad and three different sized acrylic blocks.

Straight out of the box this is very easy to use. It comes with an instructional DVD that is probably only about 30 seconds long! The only thing that doesn’t really seem to get mentioned anywhere is the fact that the stamp material is reversible. I spent ages wondering whether there is a certain way round it should be placed on the mat and it seems there isn’t one.

The only thing really to take in account when making stamps (you can use any cut file you want to make stamps with, you don’t have to use the included freebie designs) is that everything is cut out separately, like a normal cut. Therefore if you want to make a stamp with ‘happy birthday’ on, you need to either use a nice handwritten font and then weld the letters together or place each letter individually on the stamping block.

I went for the welding option.

stamp3

While doing stamping research online I came across a great tip for helping with the placement of words and lettering on the stamping block. In Silhouette Studio create an offset of the text and cut that out on card or paper. Then place your stamp onto that to line it up perfectly, before pressing the stamping block on it.

I did this for my thank you stamp but then stamped onto that offset piece of card…IMG_6595

The above is stamped using the Silhouette ink. I tried using my trusty Staz On ink but it wouldn’t stick to the stamp material at all, which is unusual.

stamp5In order to be cuttable in your machine, the stamping material is quite thin which can make it a little unruly when it comes to placement on the stamping block, which is why using an offset cut is a great idea to get it lined up nicely on the card/paper before putting it on the block.

stamp4

As you can see, I need a little practice when it comes to lining up my block when stamping! I also need a little practice when it comes to inking the stamp so it stamps consistently and not so patchy like on the left.

My favourite use so far has been with my embosser, as shown in my thank you cards post from earlier in the month…star thank youFor someone who doesn’t do huge amounts of stamping but is often faced with ‘damn, I wish I had a stamp for that’ this kit is perfect. I haven’t quite figured out the best way to store the stamps as the backing to the sheets of material isn’t great. The next cutting mat that is ready for the bin might just come in handy for them…

Stamping material top tips

  1. Don’t worry about having to mirror your cut or anything. Because the material is reversible you can cut your text or image as normal.
  2. But this does mean you then have to reverse the image on your cutting block.
  3. Cutting out an offset of your stamp to adhere the stamp to first (or even for storage) is a great idea to help get perfect alignment of your stamps.
  4. Make sure you put your stamping material on your cutting mat (and always use the stamping cutting mat) in the middle and load it into the Silhouette so the rollers don’t touch the material.
  5. Check the tightness of your blade – I wasted a lot of material because the cap was loose and not cutting properly.

Em x

One thought on “Silhouette Stamping Material Review

Leave a Reply

